Office of the President

Dr. Deborah Snyder

Dr. Deborah A. Snyder was appointed president of St. Clair County Community College (SC4) in 2016.

Over the course of her more than 30-year career in higher education, Dr. Snyder has held academic and senior administrative leadership positions at large and small public, private and for-profit institutions including the University of Michigan-Flint, Walsh College of Business in Troy, Michigan, Capella University in Minneapolis, Minnesota, Strayer University in Washington, D.C., and Cogswell College in San Jose, California. Additionally, she has consulted with colleges and universities across the country in areas of academic program quality, integrated communication strategies and strategic planning.

Dr. Snyder currently serves on the Michigan Virtual Board of Directors, an organization partnering with more than 500 districts in Michigan to provide online courses and supplemental programs for Michigan students and professional development for educators.

Dr. Snyder has published three books: the first on internet marketing, “e-Marketing Basics,” written in the early years of internet adoption; the second, “The New Traditionals,” about the growing trend of adult learners attending college; and a third, “Old School, New School, No School,” which examines the recalibration of higher education in preparation for the accelerating changes taking place in the world.

Her academic credentials include a Ph.D. in organizational communication, a master’s degree in business administration, and a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Wayne State University in Detroit. Dr. Snyder also earned an associate degree from SC4.

Commitment to equity

Read Dr. Snyder’s statement on diversity, equity, and inclusion at SC4.

In the summer of 2020, the presidents of all 28 public community colleges in the state of Michigan issued a statement on racial equity.

St. Clair County Community College, through the Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, confirms its commitment to this statement.

On Feb. 12, 2021, Dr. Snyder made a statement to reinforce the dedication of the college to values and principles Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.