Tuition and Fees

SC4’s in-district tuition and fees are about one-third of the average cost at one of Michigan’s four-year public universities. Additionally, SC4 students may also benefit from financial aid packages, scholarships, grants and loans.

2019-20 tuition and fees

Residents of St. Clair County Community College district:

  • $131 per contact hour
  • $30 technology fee per contact hour

NOTE: This rate also applies to out-of-district high school students taking classes approved by and paid for by their school district (dual-enrollment).

Residents of the state of Michigan outside the college district:

  • $257 per contact hour
  • $30 technology fee per contact hour

Residents outside the state of Michigan and international students enrolled through visas:

  • $375 per contact hour
  • $30 technology fee per contact hour

Additional fees:

  • $95 student fee (non-refundable) per semester
  • Laboratory, course and program fees as required by course
  • $70 fee per online course
  • $45 per contact hour nursing program fee
  • $15 HIT program fee per contact hour
  • $25 per Allied Health application fee
  • $30 fee per high-cost course applies to all ETM, ETG, ETE, ETP, ETW and ETA courses
  • Other fees may apply

Tuition payment schedule by term

Summer 2020 semester

  • February 24 to March 27, 2020 – No payment required until final due date of April 10, 2020.  Partial payments are accepted through April 9, 2020.
  • March 28 to July 3, 2020 – Payment in full required at the time of registration.

Fall 2020 semester

  • April 13, 2020 to May 15, 2020 – No payment required until final due date of May 29, 2020. Partial payments are accepted through May 28, 2020.
  • May 16, 2020 to August 28, 2020 – Payment in full required at the time of registration.

Payment options

Payments can be made online via Service Center Student Finance, by logging in to the SC4 Portal. To pay by phone, call 810-989-5513.

Budget plans for fall, winter and summer are available online with NELNET.

We reserve the right to remove students from courses for not complying with the tuition payment schedule. A registration restriction will be imposed for students that have been dropped for non-payment twice in the same semester.

Residency requirement

To qualify for in-district tuition rates, new residents must submit a Residency Change Form and provide proof of in-district residency. This proof can be demonstrated via a valid driver license, Michigan ID card, or Voter Registration card. The Residency Change Form and proof of in-district residency must be submitted to the One-stop Student Service Center (first floor, SC4 Welcome Center) prior to the start of the semester in which the student is seeking in-district tuition rates.

Residents of the college district who are 60 years and older qualify for a tuition reduction of 50% on most credit courses (a few special classes are exempt from discounts). This reduction does not apply to any course fees.

Refund Policy

Tuition and refundable fees for courses dropped during the established deadlines below will be refunded in full.

Course LengthDrop/Add with a Refund
16 weeks (Full Term Fall and Winter Semesters)   5 calendar days from the semester start date
6 weeks (Full Term Summer Semester)  5 calendar days from the semester start date
3 to 15 weeks5 calendar days from the start date of the class
1 day to 2 weeks     first day of class

The student fee (assessed at the time of registration each semester) is non-refundable.

Refunds for less than $5 will be processed upon request. No refund will be made for courses dropped after the established deadline dates, unless said course(s) are dropped as a result of student illness or injury, or student military service. The student will be required to provide a physician’s (or equivalent) verification of illness or injury or proof of being called up for military service. (The student must already be in the service to qualify.) Refunds granted due to illness, injury or military service will be pro-rated. Injured, ill or military students unable to drop in person should have a family member or friend contact the Records office within the Welcome Center to initiate the process.

Students who receive Title IV Federal Aid and withdraw from any classes during the first 60% of the semester must have the amount of financial aid they are entitled to recalculated. The student/school may be required to return a portion of the federal funds awarded to the student back to the Federal Government. Further information may be obtained in the Financial Aid office. Students disputing any balance due on tuition/fees must do so within 90 days of the end of the semester in which the dispute has occurred.