Back to main news

SC4 Hall of Fame Inductees to be honored, Zeke the Wonderdog featured on Saturday

Zeke the Wonderdog, a frisbee-catching fixture of Michigan State University football and basketball games, will be the halftime entertainment during the Skippers women’s and men’s basketball games Saturday, Feb. 16, against rival Macomb Community College at the SC4 Fieldhouse starting at 1 p.m. and 3 p.m., respectively.

The basketball games and Zeke’s visit to campus lead up to the induction of the Skippers Hall of Fame Class of 2019, which will take place during a formal ceremony at the McMorran Theater at 6 p.m.

The third annual event will honor 14 former SC4 athletes and three teams, including nine All-Americans and three national tournament teams.

2019 Skippers Hall of Fame inductees:

  • Andrea (Gass) Charbonneau, a 2000 Imlay City High School graduate and standout on SC4’s 2000-01 volleyball teams.
  • Penny (Kroll) Cauzillo, a 1986 Anchor Bay High School graduate who excelled in softball and basketball at SC4.
  • Brian Hadley, a Sarnia native and star golfer at SC4 and beyond.
  • Al Hairston, a basketball star at Port Huron Junior College who was later drafted by the Seattle SuperSonics.
  • James ‘Bubbles” Harris, a standout scorer on SC4’s 1967-68 and 1968-69 basketball teams from Lorain, Ohio.
  • Jackie Jeffery, a Detroit native and coach of the first women’s basketball team at SC4 in 1975.
  • Matt Joseph, a transfer from Eastern Michigan University who made a significant impact on the Skippers’ 1982 baseball team.
  • Alicia Kollmorgen, a St. Clair High School grad and important fixture of the Skippers’ 1994-95 national runner-up team.
  • Allison Mattox, A Marysville native and two-time All-American star of SC4’s 2004 national championship volleyball squad.
  • Steve McCalmon, a Port Huron Northern graduate and standout tennis player at SC4 in 1974-75.
  • Jim Paajanen, a St. Clair High School graduate and brilliant tennis player for SC4 during the 1968-69 and 1969-70 seasons.
  • Dennis Queen, a lights-out left-handed pitcher on SC4’s 1970 baseball team.
  • Taylor (Twite) Rutledge, a Lapeer East High School graduate who played a pivotal role in the SC4 volleyball team’s success during the 2001 season.
  • Ashley Valle, an Algonac High School graduate and premier power hitter for SC4’s softball team in 2011.

The 2001 women’s volleyball team, which finished third in the NJCAA nationals, will also be inducted, along with the 2012-13 women’s basketball team and 1970 baseball squad.

Tickets for the afternoon basketball games are $5 at the door and free for SC4 students and alumni with ID. The cost to attend the Hall of Fame Ceremony is $20. Tickets may be purchased by calling the SC4 Business Office at 810-989-5513 or at the McMorran Theater door the night of the event.

Leave a Reply